Most advertising agencies hail on their audiences with very similar tactics to target a demographic. After seeing thousands of advertisements hailing and trying to interpolate women and age categories each year, the underlying messages become quite clear.

Once reading my classmates blogs’ and seeing how they dissected various advertisements, I found that advertisements targeting a female audience brought femininity and gender identity to their ads. Whether the advertisement is promoting something as a “lady-like” thing to do or it’s presumed that because you are a woman you should like this product, there is always a hidden message or connotation telling us the ideologies of women. Shaiann claims that the Just Fab Shoe Commercial “is successful in its attempt to represent my values as a ‘shoe-a-holic’…”http://shaiannrichards.wordpress.com, which is just one example of ideologies of women and what we should like and consume. Sydney also makes similar claims in her explanation of Gṻd Shampoo and Conditioner, however her ad hails its audience by using an icon endorsing the product as well, “since Carly [Rae Jepsen] is the image of femininity and quirkiness, she is someone that young girls tend to idealize” http://sydneyballam.wordpress.com/ , and in turn favour the product. If one were to believe everything from these advertisements all girls should be shoe obsessed, shower singing superstars. I can’t deny my likeness for shoes or my occasional shower outburst, but the ads shown seem more dramatic than the reality.

I also belong to another demographic because of my age. Advertisers also attempt to hail on age groups, and Sarah found a unique YouTube advertisement called “Child of the 90’s- Internet Explorer”. She explains that “The advertisement refers to 90’s kids at “Generation Y” which creates a sense of unity and acceptance into this group of people, it then went on to insinuate that the 90’s generation is better than the 2000’s by almost degrading comparisons…” http://st12tq.wordpress.com/ . I found this particularly interesting because Sarah is exactly right; this ad is trying to make us feel better about ourselves and the generation we grew up in so we gain trust in the product and feel connected to it. The ad successfully hailed me as well but I failed understand why I should buy the Internet Explorer product because I was born in the 90’s. In my eyes this ad fell a little short in selling their product, because as a 90’s kid I never used their product until to 2000’s when internet became mainstream. This ad unrealistically represents my demographic because Internet Explorer isn’t true 90’s kid culture, although it’s trying to convince viewers otherwise.

Throughout all the advertisements hailing at the demographics I fall under, I do believe there is truth behind the way the advertisement agencies represent such demographics, however I find that there is a slight inaccuracy and unrealistic component that still distances me from such advertisements.

